←back

MY BLOG!! STUFF I THINK ABOUT!!

I don't know how to add a scroll bar to this so it's kind of broken sorry

this is a little late because it's literally the end of january but hey. Things take time.

the record by boygenius

Okay I gotta get this one out of the way. Really one of the best albums of the year. I have listened to this album so many times this year that I didn't even realise it only came out in March. I think a lot has been said about this album already so I don't really have anything new. I love Lucy Dacus. Also what the hell is off-brand ecstacy.

Fav tracks: Cool About It + Satanist

10,000 gecs by 100 gecs

Okay this one too. This might be sacreligious but this is genuinely one of the best gec releases ever. They literally get better every album. It's got such a good mix of influences from other genres outside hyperpop. I listened all the way through on the day it was released, which is rare for me becuase I have Disorders.

Fav tracks: Dumbest Girl Alive + Hollywood Baby

Faces from the Masquerade by Car Seat Headrest

As a CSH special interest-haver I feel legally obligated to include this (despite it just being a live album). It was really good, in all fairness. The first three tracks being my favorites off their respective albums felt like a blessing. I think the live elements were incoporated super well. My favorite part (I audibly laughed) is when they mention the next song being a request and someone shouts "HIGH TO DEATH!!" and the next track is Sober to Death. And they never fucking play High to Death. Truly fucked up. Okay I can talk forever about CSH but i'm not gonna do that. Sorry I guess.

Fav tracks: Crows, Weightlifters, Bodys, etc.

Wallsocket by Underscores

I love underscores so much. Wallsocket is probably one of my favorite hyperpop(ish) albums ever. Expands on everything good about her previous albums. Some of the more acoustic tracks definitely had to grow on me. But when they grew on me they GREW ON ME. (shout out Shoot to kill, kill your darlings) also the sheer extent of lore behind this album is severely underdiscussed and I need a full breakdown by April herself someday.

Fav tracks: Locals (Girls like us) + Geez louise + Shoot to kill, kill your darlings

As Small as Ants by This is the Glasshouse

I am genuinely mad I didn't know about this album sooner. Everything about this album is beautifully composed and definitely manages to hold your attention. Songs like I Was An Ocean, I Was A River are very reminiscint of Jordaan Mason & The House Museum (i love this) I also found out I really like chamber pop.

Fav track: I Was An Ocean, I Was A River

This Land Is Inhospitable and So Are We

MITSKI!!! You know I had to include this album. I'm definitely an old Mitski enjoyer but I do love that she's making music this actively. Really liked this album. Obviously a lot of other people did too (My Love Mine All Mine surpassed Nobody in plays???) Good Album. Loved it.

Fav tracks: I Don't Like My Mind + I'm Your Man

HELLMODE by Jeff Rosenstock

I found Jeff Rosenstock this year and Man! it feels like he makes music specifically for me. "Held in a bong hit, sitting in a hot tub in south Wisconsin"?? this is so specific and so real. (not really). HELLMODE is sweet because it definitely strays further away from the like. Midwest Rock. that his songs normally sound like. It gets kind of FIDLAR-y in there sometimes. I can't believe this guy made like. the entire soundtrack for the craig of the creek movie.

Fav tracks: HEAD, LIKED U BETTER

That's Life by FIDLAR

Speaking of FIDLAR! Techncially this an EP but the album they released this year is just an acoustic version of this album?? (plus a Basement Jaxx cover???) I really do not understand FIDLAR's spotify releases this year but maybe that's part of the vibe. I've liked FIDLAR forever so I was happy to hear new shit this year. Generally solid songs overall. On Drugs is like one of my top songs this year. I don't think that's a good thing. Also everytime Zac mentions 100 gecs in centipede I get caught offgaurd.

Fav tracks: On Drugs, FSU

Okay that's it ^o_o^ see you guys whenver i think of another thing to write about